CFSSC Leadership: Staff & Board of Directors

Our Staff

Catholic Family Services of Simcoe County is a non-profit organization offering professional counselling services and education. At Catholic Family Services of Simcoe County (CFSSC) we are committed to providing professional services to reduce emotional distress, enhance personal well-being and strengthen relationships. We are a valued partner in the community and work in collaboration with a number of other organizations and institutions, including: local social service agencies, hospitals, primary care physicians, community networks and school boards.

General Information

CFSSC Phone | 705-726-2503

CFSSC Email |

CFSSC Locations | Click here for more information


PAR Intake | 705-726-2503, x123

Leadership Staff Team

Michelle Bergin | Executive Director |

Susan Chavner-Moen | Office Manager |

Amanda Fellows | Program Manager, Community Development|

Jim Fitzgerald | Finance & Operations Manager |

Wilfredo Fuentes | PAR Program Manager|

Michele Lawson| Business Development Manager|

Jeff Long | Program Manager|

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall leadership, governance, and financial accountability of the agency — including strategic planning, financial management, fund development and community relations.

The Board ensures that individuals, couples and families in Simcoe County have a place to turn to for professional counselling services and education for years to come. The Board is comprised of a diverse cross-section of community members and professionals who are committed to giving back to the areas in which they live and work.

Catholic Family Services of Simcoe County has its roots in Catholic values. The Board is, however, strongly motivated to encourage diversity in its membership, and welcomes new Board members from all faith traditions.

It is important for Board Members, employees and volunteers to support the values of the organization. Members of our Board of Directors commit their valuable time and talents to the work of our organization.



If you are interested in putting your skills and energy to work in support of accessible mental health services for the residents and employees of Simcoe County and the District of Muskoka, please read this letter from our Board leadership. We especially encourage applications from those who will help our leadership to represent the full diversity and geography of the communities we serve. Remote participation is available.

Interested in applying? Please complete this Board of Directors Application Form and email it to If you require accommodations throughout any part of this process, please let us know.

Click here to download recruitment poster. 


Board of Directors 2021-2022


Steve McDonald | President
Chair, Governance Committee

Laurie van den Hurk | Past President
Vice Chair, Governance Committee

Carla Birnie | Treasurer
Chair, Finance & Audit Committee

Les Paul Stewart | Secretary
Member, Finance & Audit Committee

Sue Reid | Member
Member, Finance & Audit Committee

Cathy Barry | Member
Member, Business Development Committee
Member, Governance Committee

Brian Frawley | Member
Member, Business Development Committee

Colleen Magennis | Member
Member, Business Development Committee

Michelle Bergin | Executive Director


Secured By miniOrange